Life Since then.

So lots of things have happened since I returned home from Thailand. Some good things, some bad.

Since returning home, my depression has come back and its been a struggle to find positivity in everyday life. Between scheduling interviews and my actual summer job, Ive had to reschedule doctors appointments several times which means I am not regularly taking my meds. Unfortunately, I have noticed some physical side effects of that such as random dizziness and headaches. Lesson: If youre on anti-depressants… take them regularly and schedule those appointments. No job is worth your health.

In the span of 9 months, I have had two car accidents. Thank God none of them major. Too bad both times my car was totaled. I think Jude (my car guy in Burlington) has had enough of seeing me haha.

The search for a “real teaching job” has been a long and frustrating process. Wave after wave of rejections or just “radio silence” has taken a toll on my perception of my abilities and the worth of my experience. I have fallen into that classic conundrum of, “how can I get experience if Im not hired?! But I need experience in order to be hired…”

It frustrates me to no end to know that people who have been out of the country for years with no US license to teach or experience teaching in a US school system can waltz into a job. Yea, he knew someone. How can I keep from feeling that “knowing someone” demeans everything I have done?!

Anyhow, on the good side of life(ha, you thought i would just be complaining, huh?) I met a man. His name is Mark and he works in IT at Beth Israel Hospital. He is the most caring and sweet man I have met. Even if I am in a bad mood, he can make me laugh and forget whatever it is that is bothering me. In the rare event that he cant, he listens to my issue and tries to help.

Not only does he have time for me, he WANTS to spend it with me. I can really see this going for the long run.

My job at WB ended but I reapplied and was offered the position again. It is nice to know that, regardless of what happens, I will have a job to go back to come September. I do like working with the kids at WB, I feel that I have achieved a good relationship with them and that they trust me. And it does feel good when a student asks for help.

I know this is brief and short on details but its late and I cant seem to get my thoughts together!

Hit me with your best shot...